MINUTES – SER LUNCHEON at the NATIONAL CONFERENCE, June

12, 2024, Iowa

VP Adams opened the meeting at 12.09 pm. Claudia Sandifer

prayed for our meeting and Harriet Coker who became ill during

NFMC's opening session of the 2024 Conference.

The minutes of the July 2023 SER meeting were read by Secretary

Hughes and approved as sent prior to the meeting. No corrections

were made.

Treasurer Harvey explained how the SER accounts are now with

Chase Bank since they have branches throughout the SER. The

treasurer's report was distributed, discussed and accepted.

There was no Advisory Council report. Lana Bailey discussed and

gave information regarding the Bylaws committee and new

standing rules which were unanimously adopted. The current

officers will continue for another year, VP Joel Adams, Secretary

Debra Hughes and Treasurer, Kim Harvey.

Ruth Morrow encouraged all in attendance to become a SER

Fellow while displaying pictures of the medallion, explaining the

design's meaning and passed out applications for membership.

The medallions will be presented to those who are new Fellows at

the July SER meeting at Brevard. Marcia Chaplin added herself to

the Fellows roll hoping many others would follow. Currently there

are 20 SER Fellows.

Elizabeth Huss intiated much discussion regarding the policies for the annual SER meeting in July. A motion was made by Barbara Hildebrand thusly: The NFMC SER summer meeting will be held in any weekend in July beginning in 2025. The amendment carried.

Barbara Hildebrand made a motion that promotes a program in

which a Senior member of NFMC SER voluntarily donates a

minimum of \$5 per year for 5 years for the development of

scholarships to the Eastern Music Festival and the Sewanee

Summer Music Center. After discussion, the motion carried, and

VP Adams started the pledge with \$200 each year for 5 years.

Much approval and applause followed.

Dale Clark announced that the Lucille Parish Ward award went to

19 year-old Lian Levine. David Huang, Arowyn Ameida, and

Samuel Lee also were awarded scholarships.

There were 44 in attendance: Joel Adams, Debra Hughes, Kim

Harvey, Cheryl Davis, Debbie Bullock, Debbie Barnes, Neil Barnes,

Margeret Liu, Jane Lester, Michelle Peck, Leslie Kennedy, Zuill and

Lana Bailey, Bill and Cynthia Elmore, Janice Flinte, Paul and Elaine

Brady, Michael Edwards, Lisa Smith, Suzanne Carpenter, Cheryl

Poe, Claudia Brill, Bill Carroll, Elizabeth Huss, Wanda Sims, Elaine

Knight, Lisa Moore, Dale Clark, Claudia Sandifer, Ruth and Michael

Morrow, Marcia Chaplin, Margarita Harvey, Barbara Hildebrand,

Deborah Freeman, Fred Underdown, Mary Ellen Noletti, Sue Ann Reeves, Steve Adams, Gilda Bocock, May Kay B. Nolan, Nanette

and Donald Kaufmann.

Respectfully submitted,

Debra S. Hughes, SER Secretary